Santorum Projected To Win Kansas

 With 76% of the precincts reporting Rick Santorum is projected to win the Kansas caucuses with around 53% of the vote, with Mitt Romney in second with 17%, Gingrich in third at 16% and Ron Paul in proverbial last place at 13%.

   If the current numbers hold Santorum will take a large amount of the state’s 40 delegates.

  By Rick Santorum’s own admission Kansas was a must win. Even this good news is offset by Romney taking 18 delegates earlier from Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands.

  I haven’t talked a lot about the primaries, other than stating my support for Rick Santorum early on, before even the first primary. I think this primary system is good for the party, the nation and most of all for the voters. It allows the candidates to be vetted and allows the voters to make an informed vote.

  That being said, I think it is time for Newt Gingrich to step down and sell his support and delegates for whatever position he can get within the Santorum administration. Clearly Gingrich and Santorum are the two closest in ideology, I can’t see Gingrich throwing his support behind Romney. Of course I never would have thought Christine O’Donnell would support Romney.

   With Gingrich out of the race it suddenly becomes a much closer race on the delegates count. Of course I have no hope of the forever candidate stepping down. Ron Paul was never in this race or any of his former runs to be president. I think Mr. Paul is simply in it to attract attention, I will give him the benefit of the doubt that he wishes only to drive the conversation, and that he is not in the race simply to attract attention for himself.

 It would be foolish for Republicans to buy into the idea that any of the current four can defeat Pres. Obama, no matter what.

  Mitt Romney is actually the weakest candidate against Pres. Obama in my opinion. What the GOP needs is a clear alternative to the Obama agenda, I am not convinced that Mitt Romney can offer that clear alternative. His having been the architect of government-run health care, the very template of Obama care, makes him a non-starter in my view.

  I am not saying that he would not be a better alternative to Pres. Obama, I am saying that Mitt Romney will be a  very weak candidate, a very vulnerable candidate. His inconsistency on important issues only adds to the problem.

