I Just Want To Say

  I hope everyone will excuse me if I don’t go into great detail right now about how the election went yesterday.

  I was up early to stand the polls for Christine yesterday from 6:45am until 7:20pm. I then went to the event held by the campaign in Dover to await the results. I am sure that most of you already know the results.

  I will be posting an article this evening, but right now I just want to say that I have never been more honored than I have been in the past few months. I have had the chance to meet and work with some very bright and motivated people. If I tried to list them all I surely would forget someone. But you all know who you are.

  But I must thank Matt Moran, Christine’s campaign manager. This is a young man who put his heart and soul into something he believed in. Thank you Matt for challenging me to another level. And thank you for your work here in Delaware, it’s our game now.

  But the person I have to thank the most is Christine herself. During the campaign I always referred to her as Ms. O’Donnell. That was out of respect and as not to seem too familiar. But I now refer to her as Christine, because I consider her a friend. By helping out with the campaign I was afforded a chance to get to know this intelligent young woman.

  Many of you only know her from the media’s slanted view of her. And to be honest I only know her from the small amount of time I have been helping the campaign. But I think that last night during her concession speech I and others were given a glimpse into the true character of Christine O’Donnell.

  This is a women who has endured the most vile attacks on herself and her family by her political opponents and by people with no interest in her other than to attack her. And yet, she gave a gracious concession speech calling on Chris Coons to realize that he now was responsible to the people who elected him. She did it without laying blame and without any sense of pettiness.

  Christine then spent the next two or more hours moving through the room to thank every volunteer, every staff member and anyone who wanted to give her their well wishes. She demonstrated her poise and grace, but more she demonstrated her strength and grit. She could have left the room and gone and licked her wounds. Instead she stayed to thank the people who had worked so hard for her. This is the person I got to know, this is the person who would  have made one hell of a U.S. Senator.

 So I want to thank all of the hard-working volunteers who did way more than I did on this long road. I want to thank Matt for giving me a peek behind the curtain and allowing me to see the inner workings of how a campaign is run. And hey Matt, get something to eat and get some sleep, you deserve it guy.

 But mostly I want to thank Christine, for showing me how it is possible to fight for something that you want so badly and to lose with honor and grace. I am sure there will be those who will take one last opportunity to take some cheap shot at this wonderful young woman. I would just say to them, that if we all had half the strength and determination that Christine showed in this campaign, well the world would be a better place and Delaware is the worse for it, by not having her as our U.S. Senator.

  So. I just want to say thank you Christine O’Donnell. Every journey begins with a single step. And life is the journey, not the destination. May God Bless you in all that you do.

2 Responses to “I Just Want To Say”

  1. Judy Says:

    Frank, well said. And thank you for suggesting me to Matt, Christine and Steve. It was a pleasure to work with them and for them. It was also a pleasure to work side by side with you as well as all the other volunteers. I will say this though….it is ashame the her own party didn’t get behind her like they should have. The leadership of the GOP was an OBAMAnation and they should be ashamed of the way they treated her!! I am and will forever stay an “Unaffiliated”voter. I am Of The People, By the People and For the People always!!!!

  2. frankknotts Says:

    Judy, it is I who should thank you. After I suggested you to the campaign, you were the bulldog I thought you were. You did me proud. I am also better for getting to know you better after working on the campaign. I will be talking to you soon about that party afilliation thing. 🙂

Comments are closed.


