Courage of Your Convictions

   I was hoping to be able to move on to more important topics. You know like the un-employment rate. The exploding deficit. The fact that the Democrats have hi-jacked the health care system of the United States.

  But no, the little brains around here what to continue to focus on the fact that Vance Phillips is taking a paycheck from the Glen Urquhart campaign.

  That’s fine I guess.  I am noticing that there are some new names showing up on the blogs. That also is a good thing I guess. The more people that join a conversation, the more ideas there are to share.

 But what really burns me up are the cowards. The screen name sissies. Don’t you people have the courage of your convictions?

  Or, is it that if your identities were known, your bias would also be known?

  Would your true identities prove what many of us already know. That this so called controversy is nothing more than a made up controversy. That those who are trying to keep it going are a group of people from several different factions.

 In my view you have some Democrats who are afraid to run against a real conservative such as Mr. Urquahart. Then you have some Republicans who are supporting another Republican candidate, who are afraid to run against a true conservative. Of course you have some people who just out and out hate developers and those who support growth. Then you have those who are just out for revenge.

  I have said a lot of things on this blog, that have angered people. I have been called names and had my intelligence called into question many times.

 I don’t ask everyone to agree with me, but I do stand behind everything I say and I have the courage of my convictions. I put my name to every word I post. I have never created a second anonymous screen name just so I can give a conflicting point of view.

  So I say to all of you out there who wish to challenge Mr. Phillips and Mr. Urquahart on anything they have done, either do it in your own name or crawl back in the holes you crawled out of. Put up or shut up.

7 Responses to “Courage of Your Convictions”

  1. Windjammer Says:

    Hey Frank,

    We’re putting up, why don’t you shut up and everything will work out fine

  2. frankknotts Says:

    Windjammer, thank you for that intelligent response and for proving my point. So do tell, are you a Democrat or a Republican or just someone who hates developers?

  3. judson bennett Says:

    DELAWARE GRAPEVINE AS PER CELIA COHEN–THE STORY JUST WON’T GO AWAY AND IS GROWING LONG LEGS–Vance Phillips ( Sussex County Council President) apparently was shopping his services for money to others for the Delaware Congressional Seat now held by Mike Castle (R) soon to be open. Glen Urquhart apparently was the first to bite?? Is Vance’s political method of operation KINDA LIKE THE OLDEST PROFESSION ? 🙂 🙂 Scroll Down to read CELIA Cohen’s facinating article below:

    THERE’S GOLD IN THEM THAR CANDIDATES
    By Celia Cohen
    Grapevine Political Writer

    “Before there was Glen Urquhart, there was Tony Wedo, another well-off Republican new to Delaware politics with a hankering to run for Congress.

    Wedo was not surprised at all by the sideshow that has been consuming the state’s political class, ever since the latest batch of campaign finance reports came due April 15 for federal candidates.

    Vance Phillips, the Republican who is the Sussex County Council president, turned out to be on Urquart’s campaign payroll, a queasy arrangement if ever there was one.

    Politics does not have much experience with mergers and acquisitions. It has led to a jumble of conjecturing about who is extracting what from whom and who is beholden for what, made all the more complicated because Urquhart is a Sussex County developer.

    Wedo says Phillips tried to put the touch on him earlier.

    “I met Vance in the exploratory [phase.] He offered his help, and I declined it,” Wedo said. “He commented to me that for ‘x’ amount of money, he would be involved with me and help me with Sussex County. I didn’t think that was appropriate.”

    Wedo never did become a candidate. A business executive who was with PepsiCo/Kentucky Fried Chicken and Boston Market, he currently consults with a New York investment firm on restaurant ventures. He has been trying for a couple of years to move across the line from Pennsylvania to an old house he is restoring in Greenville, but the work has gone on and on and on.

    Phillips acknowledges some talk about money, but not the way Wedo described it.

    “I said, you can’t afford me. I knew he had no candidacy because he didn’t live in the state. I didn’t want to hurt his feelings,” Phillips said.

    As Wedo faded out as a potential candidate in February, Urquhart came on. Urquhart drew a certain amount of interest, only to be eclipsed when Michele Rollins, one of the state’s most prominent business executives, declared she wanted to run.

    They have their sights on the congressional seat Mike Castle, their fellow Republican, is leaving after nine terms to run for the Senate. The Democrats have John Carney, the former lieutenant governor, looking to replace Castle.

    It is a secret what Phillips’ price is. The campaign is being financed almost entirely by a personal loan from Urquhart of $565,000, with Phillips so far collecting a salary of $5,000. Phillips would not say how much more is coming — “you will be able to count it up as the reports come out” — and neither would the campaign.

    “He is still a paid consultant, but as his role diminishes in the campaign, his pay will also diminish,” said Kim Stevenson, a campaign spokeswoman.

    There appears to be no precedent for a Delaware officeholder to be on the payroll of another politician. Certainly there is plenty evidence of cooperation, such as Tom Carper, the Democratic senator, setting up a PAC to help other candidates, or Castle appearing at a fund-raising reception for Colin Bonini, the Republican candidate for treasurer, but nothing this coldly transactional.

    There is even the model Phillips himself followed in his involvement with the 2008 campaign of Bill Lee, the Republican candidate for governor. Phillips was reimbursed for expenses totaling about $7,500. His college-age daughter and a nephew were paid staffers.

    “I made no decision on whether Vance got salary. I believe he got expenses,” Lee said. “He made a tremendous commitment. I’m sorry he’s in this present controversy. I wasn’t a rich developer.”

    Phillips is unapologetic about his new paycheck. He says it compensates for the hours he would otherwise be spending on his real estate dealings and farming. As if he were being forced into subordinating those interests to his political reach.

    Wedo, by the way, has not soured on politics. He expects to spend this campaign season helping out Rollins and some Republican legislative candidates. He enjoyed his exploratory campaign, especially the time someone in Sussex County prodded him to find out whether he knew anything about chickens.

    As a matter of fact, Wedo knew everything there is to know because of his experience buying tens of millions of pounds a year at Boston Market and KFC. When it comes to chicken, he outranks Colonel Sanders.

    Not to mention Wedo is up to playing chicken with Vance Phillips, too”

  4. judson bennett Says:

    VANCE PHILLIPS BARES HIS SOUL TO COASTAL NETWORK– SAYS POLITICS IS HIS “PASSION / ADDICTION” AND WHY HE MUST DO IT AND RECEIVE COMPENSATION:

    —– Original Message —–
    From: VANCE PHILLIPS
    To: Judson Bennett
    Sent: Wednesday, April 21, 2010 10:34 PM
    Subject: RE: Sussex Council President offered political services to others?

    “Hi Jud, Seems like I am a very popular guy these days. If you would be so kind as to forward this note to your network, I would appreciate it. After reading Celia’s blog post and your comments, I was compelled to jot down a few thoughts….

    Regarding Celia’s blog post, my side of the story is accurate, although Wedo may have been misled by Dave Jones who was doing the facilitating. It doesn’t matter, I like Tony, its just not his time.

    After Wedo, came an overture from Colin Bonini to work on his campaign via a mutual friend. In this case, I felt like Bonini would be worth working for because of his viability and his principles. But the offer was less than the salary I had set.

    The reason there was a salary, is because I knew that I would not be able to participate in politics any longer unless it was in an occupational context. The Bill Lee campaign taught me that I am unable to control my political passions and that it was killing me personally. My family suffered by a) not having the head of the household at home and b) not having a secure revenue stream to take care of them. In 2006 I helped folks like Ferris Wharton and lots of local candidates. In 2007 I became the vice chairman of the Republican State Party and spent untold hours throughout the state working on campaigns. Since 2005 I have eroded my personal finances to the point that I have lived off previously accumulated equity. My farming operations have suffered tremendously, with my acreage going from 400 acres back then to 50 acres this year. My active real estate work ended many years ago, again a victim of a divided set of priorities.

    I have an addictive personality and I cannot participate in the political arena halfway. So after Bill Lee’s campaign and helping several other local candidates in 2008, I was left broken in so many ways and I made a promise to myself and my wife that I would never run another campaign without appropriate compensation. I was content to sit the 2010 cycle out and even considered retiring from County Council myself, but was encouraged to file by many good folks making the argument that I needed to do my duty and continue to serve.

    Then came someone who had heard that I would consider putting a campaign together as a job. I confirmed and a month went by before they contacted me again to tell me it was Glen Urquhart. I was skeptical, but agreed to meet with him and his wife Angela, together with my wife. We had dinner at Glen’s house and we listened to him tell his story. We asked lots of questions and after two hours I told him I would think about it. When we left, I again assured Lisa that I would not get involved without her consent, and I meant it.

    That night I prayed about it and was given peace in the form of Lisa’s discernment of Glen. The next day Lisa told me that she approved, that Glen seemed like a good candidate and a likable guy. I waited a while to absorb what I was about to commit to and then called him and told him I would help him.

    Since that time, I have been spending every waking hour thinking about this candidacy. I have lived at our condo at the beach near Glen’s five nights a week, while putting in a solid 70 hours per week working on the campaign both in Rehoboth and during the two days that I am home. With the exception of church, my cell phone is always on and I have again completely fallen off the political wagon. Maybe its a disease or maybe just a passion. I love it and I hate it. I am told that I get it from my grandfather who ironically was the Sussex County Democrat Chairman in 1950 http://politicalgraveyard.com/bio/phillips.html

    If that makes me a whore, then so be it. My motives are noble, but I still have two daughters in to carry through college, a significant mortgage and a wife who deserves to be comfortable, especially in light of the fact that she is a political widow every other year.”

  5. frankknotts Says:

    Well how much honesty do you folks need ? The guy just bared his soul the same as they bared their political relationship on the FEC report. If a person can be that honest about their passions, I would say they deserve the benefit of the doubt about their honesty in being able to seperate his two jobs. I put a persons honesty and integrity above the political perceptions of a few people with ulterior motives.

  6. meatball Says:

    I use an annon moniker because it helps you, Frank.

  7. frankknotts Says:

    Anonymous and vague ?

Comments are closed.


